School Board

School Boards in the ACT were established in 1976 and were based on the following two principles:

  • that schools had as much decision making responsibility as possible and should be able to determine their own educational policies
  • decision making at the school level should effectively involve teachers, parents, students and the department.

The School Board consists of three parent members, two teachers, the Principal and one ACT community member. One of its major functions is to determine the educational policies to be implemented at the school, including oversight of the school curriculum.

The Mawson Primary School Board meets twice a term and these meetings are advertised in the school newsletter, 'Schoolweek'.